A Few of My Favorite Things

…I simply remember my favorite things and then I don’t feel so bad

It’s true. Starting this column a few weeks ago has helped my focus on the things that are making me happy even when negative things are happening around me. This week was interesting…it snowed, sleeted, rained, and now it’s 60 and sunny outside, and I’m hoping it stays spring-like for the long haul.

Today I decided to give up pursuing my dream apartment because all the things the landlord wanted before even telling me if I was eligible for the apartment was like giving up my first-born child. It was insane…last year’s tax return, a letter from my boss saying that I have a job, my bank account #s and credit cards, $90 for a credit check…I could get my yearly credit check for free and give it to them; and isn’t the fact that a check gets deposited into my bank account every week enough proof I have a job? What a pain. Hopefully I’ll find another beautiful, sunny, spacious apartment with an eat-in kitchen in a convenient location with less crazy requirements soon.

I was almost on the verge of tears when I decided not to go any further, but I took a walk, got a bagel from my favorite bagel shop and hit the Hell’s Kitchen Flea Market for the first time since Fashion Week back in September. All of this weekend’s favorite things come in the form of sparkles and shine, except for one!

 

It's rare to find vintage earrings in this good condition that aren't clip ons. I got these and...

And these for just $25 altogether. Another fab vintage find from the same vendor..a steal!

And if we're talking bargains...a separate vendor had this in her sale bin for $2. Yep two bucks! Tags and everything still attached!

I'm kicking myself for not buying this late 60's era mini-dress. (P.S. it wasn't on sale, that's the dress behind it.)

 

This entry was posted in NYC Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

