Spring Tie-Dyed Cupcakes

I’m not going to lie to you: on the outside, these are undoubtedly the ugliest cupcakes I’ve ever made…but on the inside, they’re really pretty…and most importantly: they’re delicious!

Inspired by BLDG 25, Free People’s blog, I created these superfab tie-dyed cupcakes, just in time for spring today (and we’ll try to pretend there isn’t snow in the forecast for NYC).

Tie-Dyed Treats

Except, that I was a little overzealous. Their recipe says to use a yellow cake mix from a box and of course, I am an expert cupcake baker, why would I ever use a box?! Instead I used this recipe and I tried to halve it, because I’m going to visit my parents in a few days, and I have no use for 24 cupcakes.

I created the recipe to a “T” and then divided the batter up to color it. I filled each color on top of an another until the cupcake tins were about 3/4 full.

Here’s the hitch: I only had the tin cupcake cups to bake in, and no actually muffin tin, because apparently it’s at my roommate’s boyfriend’s apartment.

So this new recipe, spread width-wise in the oven as much as it could, and then upwards…rising much higher than expected and overflowing the edges of the cups, therefore, making these the ugliest-on-the-outside cupcakes!

I used a homemade tie-dyed buttercream to match…which also ugly-ifed as I frosted. I just used one stick of butter to 16 ounces of confectioner’s sugar and blended them with an electric mixer. I added a few drops of each color of food dye and only mixed them in a little, since I didn’t want the frosting to turn brown…but once I put it in a bag to pipe it on, it all mixed together.

But the insides of the cupcakes are BEAUTIFUL! And perfect for spring…

Happy Spring!

xox,

E

This entry was posted in Food, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring Tie-Dyed Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Walrus Chocolate Cupcakes Recipe « The Cooking Channel

Leave a Reply

