Designer Spotlight: Jac Vanek (+ a giveaway!)

That's Jac, starring in her own lookbook!

A few months ago I had the great pleasure of meeting up and coming designer Jac Vanek. When I walked into a room full of tongue-in-cheek t-shirts, I had no idea how bubbly Jac would be!

Jac's latest design, never behind the trend curve! $24.00

 

After learning a little more about her, I learned that she until she attended her first concert solo, Sugarcult, Finch, and Something Corporate playing at her local mall in Orange County, CA, Jac was a pink-loving, popular cheerleader, who no one would’ve normally pictured in that music scene. After convincing her parents to let her attend without supervision, Jac decided that her one true love was in the music business and after working a variety of music-industry jobs that included writing, freelance graphic design and photography, she found her inspiration to create.

Jac's designs (literally) speak for themselves

Jac made her first bracelet and made a few copies for friends that just said one word, “Ruthless”. As the buzz began to grow, so did the demand on the music scene for her bracelets. With the great success of this one bracelet, Jac has now created over 50 different designs on bracelets, t-shirts and jewelry. She’s worked with tons of celebs–everyone from Miley Cyrus to the guys of Cobra Starship–and was a huge influence in the NOH8 campaign. She’s worked with PETA2, Open Our Eyes and Invisible Children. Plus, check out everyone wearing her!

From walking into her room at the Ace Hotel, I instantly knew I wanted to be part of Jac’s success because her designs say things that most graphic tees and bracelets don’t say. They actually said things I wanted to wear, not corny things or clichés like most of the stuff on the market. So…here I am, telling you all about her, because I think you’ll want to wear them too!

Jac’s designs are available online in her store, were recently picked up by Bloomingdales and are available in boutiques across the country…find one near you!

She’s also got a pretty cool Twitter account with over 65,000 followers. (I’m still trying to figure out how she managed that!) When I asked her how she had that many followers she giggled and said, “Honestly? I just don’t know. But it’s cool!”

Jac’s tees, bracelets and jewelry are totally affordable, which is awesome, but free is always better. Which is why….you’re in luck:

I’ve got not one, but TWO prizes to giveaway!

The 1st: a “Believe In Something” t-shirt with a “Believe” bracelet

The 2nd: a “Sorry for Partying” tank top with a “Glamorous” bracelet

How to win? Leave a comment and tell me which one you want to win! It’s that simple. I’ll pick two winners (from a hat) on March 31, 2010.

Really want to win? Promote the contest on your Twitter and/or Facebook! If you post on Twitter make sure you copy me @erikasaprincess and if you promote on Facebook tag @Shoes Shirts & Other Sh!t (you have to be a fan) so I get your extra entries!

This entry was posted in Fashion/Style, Shopping, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Designer Spotlight: Jac Vanek (+ a giveaway!)

  1. Desiree' says:

    Hey E – thanks for keeping us unstylish MA residents up on the hip NYC happenings. If Bloomies picked up Jac’s line, then she is totally on trend. I’ll take the ‘believe in something’ t-shirt & bracelet. Should not put this out there, but the second giveaway is so not appropriate for me as I can’t tell you the last time I partied. Does a 5 year-old’s birthday party count? 🙂

  2. Jeanne says:

    I love Jac Vanek! I want the Sorry for Partying set!

  3. Bridget says:

    ahh this is awesome! i want the believe in something set!

  4. Steph M. says:

    My partying days are few and far between these days since I had to join the world of responsible adulthood. Believe in something is my mantra. Without belief in something, you have nothing.

  5. Erika says:

    I totally forgot to announce the winners! Desiree and Jeanne congrats!!! Send me your home addresses so I can mail you your prizes… shoeshirtsandothersht@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

