I’m Not Myself

I’m definitely not myself lately. I’ve been having tons of personal and professional issues the last few weeks that are totally getting me down. I feel like I wrote this post just a few weeks ago to apologize for not writing, and now I’m writing it again, because I’m feeling uninspired to write anything else fashionable or beautiful, and I’ve been too busy to even cook anything yummy worth posting. (My diet has consisted of several cups of coffee per day, takeout for breakfast and lunch and frozen dinners at home).

Lame. I know. You don’t have to tell me, but even with the swirl of fashion week past me, I feel like I still don’t have much to say about it, or anything else (and I owe other people I write for articles…). I think in addition to the things getting me down, I’ve been making a lot of decisions lately, with only 6-ish months of college left, that could be life-changing. I’ve made the decision to start pursuing my career in acting and singing again, which I’m beyond excited about, but it’s a hard business to crack.

I attended the opening night of previews of Anything Goes on Broadway last night with its brand new cast featuring Joel Grey and Sutton Foster. I haven’t been to a show in ages because I simply don’t have time with school and work and everything else, but I needed to see a show and write a critique for my chorus class at school. It’s really pathetic that school forced me to make time to see something I love so much. I’ve wanted to see Anything Goes since I sang its title song in a voice lesson recital in middle school and it was everything I hoped it would be and more. I sat in the audience, mouthing the words to every song and all I could think was, “I want to be on that stage.” Being at a show that I had wanted to see for so long made me so insanely happy that I almost cried.

See a video of their rehearsal without costumes:

I’ve known for a long time that the stage is where I belong, it’s just the path of getting there that’s hindered me. Freshman year, I ended up in Smalltown, Pennsylvania, USA…nowhere near a city to see performances, or go on auditions and every college I chose managed to have a non-existent drama club, no musical groups to sing with and I was too penniless to continue taking voice lessons (and I “borrowed” enough money from my parents to ask for anymore).

I think at this point, I’ve told just about everyone I know, whether they know I sing or not that to be on Glee is “my life’s goal”. I love Glee like nobody’s business and I would kill to be part of that cast, but I’ll take any reputable stage.

So if I’m quiet the next few weeks, I’m sorry. I’m auditioning, I’m doing schoolwork, apartment-hunting and much more. I’m trying to ease back into writing daily or at least, more frequently…and very shortly, a beautiful, new Shoes, Shirts & Other Sh!t should be live (just a couple more kinks to work out)!

Today, even though I feel like I could contribute something fashion-related, I don’t feel right about it with the tragedy in Japan, and the tsunami nearing the West Coast. Please know you’re all in my thoughts and please, please be safe.

Lots of love,

Erika

This entry was posted in NYC Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m Not Myself

  1. Desiree' says:

    E- don’t worry about not writing. Take care of YOU and all else will fall into place. Also, I have the benefit of the lovely Nanc to keep me up to date on your comings & goings! So glad you enjoyed the show & you should make YOU more of a priority. 🙂

Leave a Reply

