An Uninspired Week

I’ve been so down in the dumps all week, with work stressing me out and running back forth between NYC and Massachusetts for appointments, commitments and social engagements, that I’ve had no inspiration to write anything worth reading, but it’s Friday and I’m feeling like I need to breathe a sigh of relief that Sunday signals the beginning of a new week–and several weeks to come that I’m not planning to do any traveling whatsoever. Just me and NYC.

Speaking of NYC, when I was in the city (just one night all week) I decided to order Chinese takeout. Shocking, I know…single girl all alone in NYC orders Chinese takeout. Anyways… I rarely eat fortune cookies, but I always crack them open to read the fortunes. And despite my lack of interest in eating them, I always thought that if you eat the cookie the fortune has better luck of working. Well, my takeout had just one single cookie for the first time in years, and I cracked it open to read, “Wish you a good journey :)” …with all of my lucky numbers on the back of it…It freaked me out a little bit in a good way, because as I’m preparing to graduate I’ve been pursing all of my options, especially where acting and singing are concerned. I took this fortune as the wish to the journey I’m going to take during this year…a journey a tarot card reader also told me I’d be taking that would change the entire course of my life this year. Needless to say, I’m a tad freaked out, but mostly very excited.

So besides that for the week….

Back on Monday, I did a little bit of shopping (really little..honestly!) and I was on the hunt for just a few things:

1. Sephora by OPI Glee nail polishes in Diva-in-Training and Miss Bossy Pants

2. OPI Black Shatter

3. Something to fix my still tattered and destroyed hair

I did okay, I was 2 for 4 (4 things, because there are two Glee polishes listed). When I went into Sephora, I asked one of the sales clerks for help and she pointed me in the direction of the display. I darted over to find….one Miss Bossy Pants and two bottles of Diva-in-Training! HOORAY! Until I got over the register and the sales clerk picked up Miss Bossy Pants and said, “this is the tester. We don’t have any more of these, I checked for someone else earlier.” 1 for 2. I’m still on the hunt for a bottle of Miss Bossy Pants…

Behold, Sephora by OPI Glee Collection in Diva-in-Training with OPI Black Shatter on top!

Then onto the beauty supply store, where I prayed for some sort of miracle product to fix my dead, straw-like hair, and that I’d find a coveted bottle of OPI Black Shatter. I was 0 for 2 here. They had OPI Black Shatter, but it sold out in less than 24 hours and basically everything I’ve been doing to try to fix my hair is really all that I can do. There are no other magical products to help me.

Okay, so you’re wondering how I’m 2 for 4 right? Because so far I’ve only gotten one of the things on my list…Well…surprise, surprise…when I returned from NYC yesterday there was a package for me from my mom, and guess what she tracked down for me? A bottle of OPI Black Shatter! Now I’m 2 for 4, and she made me smile for the first time, basically, all week. Is she the best or what?!

And as for my hair…I’m getting a hair cut tomorrow, with the hope that it will alleviate some of the damage, and I’m expecting to cut at least 2-3 inches off…sniffle…that I’ve been painstakingly growing out since I got an awful haircut in Chelsea last March.

I’ll keep you posted on that…

I’m hoping to get back into the rhythm of writing more, catching up on Fashion Week and sharing some exciting new projects with you over the next few weeks…and don’t forget to look for my Oscars coverage this weekend! OH and big changes coming to the look and feel of the blog soon too! =)

xoxo, E

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Uninspired Week

  1. Bobbie J Crippen says:

    Hi Erika, So sorry you were you down in the dumps. Was wondering if you sent my winnings yet? Don’t want to push, Just very excited!
    I love that Crackle nail polish.
    Thanks, Bobbie

  2. Pingback: 57% Off from Fancy Fortune Cookies » Get your daily Groupon deals

Leave a Reply

