Homemade Peppermint Marshmallows

If you know me well, then you probably know that s’mores and fluffernutters are two of my favorite treats and by default, I love marshmallows. I always wondered how on earth marshmallows were made and then I came across this recipe. I also am a peppermint fiend–I keep peppermint gum and candy in my handbag at all times, I steal the mints from restaurants, and I brought home every prepared peppermint treat I could find at Trader Joe’s this year! (Ahem, Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate covered Peppermint Joe Joe’s, and their chocolate peppermint whoopie pies!)

These peppermint marshmallows are easy to make, super minty, fluffy and light… parfait in a mug of hot cocoa on a chilly night. I searched around to see if I could find any other recipes for peppermint marshmallows, and found Emily’s take on the same recipe from Martha Stewart that I wanted to use, so I used her decorating idea for inspiration.

Beware though, the first step of the instructions is incorrect: you should line the pan with plastic wrap AND THEN grease the plastic wrap with nonstick cooking spray…I had a lot of fun pulling those sticky marshmallows away from the plastic wrap, since I didn’t notice the mistake until after I had put them in the pan! They were worth it though, perfectly flavoring one of my other true loves, hot chocolate.

 

This entry was posted in Food, Holiday, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homemade Peppermint Marshmallows

  1. Pingback: Week-At-a-Glance: December 25th-January 2nd « erikabelezarian.com

  2. Pingback: Comfy & Cozy | Shoes, Shirts & Other Sh!t

Leave a Reply

