Palladium + FIT + Me = The Future of Fine Jewelry

There are some offers you just can’t ignore and for me, this was definitely one of them.

As a student who formerly planned on going to art school for fashion design, getting to work with FIT (Fashion Institute of Technology) students, means me getting to live vicariously through them. Well, sort of.

Last week, I, along with a few other lucky fashion bloggers, had the opportunity to learn about Palladium and partner up with teams of some of the best jewelry design students at FIT!

An engagement ring set in Palladium

A little about Palladium:

  • Palladium comes from the Greek pallas which means “goddess of wisdom” and was discovered by British chemist William Hyde Wollaston in 1803
  • Palladium is the lightest and least dense metal in the platinum group, which means larger pieces of jewelry are easier to wear, but still have the durability of platinum.
  • Palladium is an extremely durable, hard metal. Because it’s mixed with 5% other alloys in jewelry creation, this results in jewelry that rarely looks aged as time passes.
  • Tiffany & Co Bracelet bag in Tiffany Blue $795

    The metal is naturally white, which means it will never tarnish or lose its whiteness when it’s worn.

  • Palladium is hypoallergenic
  • Palladium is being used by some of the top jewelry designers in the world, such as Marc Jacobs and Tiffany and Co.
  • Palladium is more affordable than platinum and more durable than white gold or sterling silver.

So last Thursday I got to meet my wonderful design team, Cole and Veronica, and I was asked to bring something to them for inspiration. I thought all day about what I could possibly use to inspire myself and them to create a piece of jewelry–a ring, a cuff or a bangle. Just as I was about to run out without something (hoping descriptive words would pop into my brain instead of a piece of something), it hit me like a ton of bricks:

Camilla Skovgaard shoes I had seen at the Nicole Miller boutique

I was totally obsessed with the architecture of the bottom of these Camilla Skovgaard shoes I had spied at the Nicole Miller boutique in SoHo a few months ago. I promptly printed out a picture and was on my way to FIT.

 

After getting past the fact that the name of this website had an expletive in it that they were unsure if they were allowed to say, Cole and Veronica both seemed excited about the architecture of what I wanted to create and started sketching their ideas out while we sitting there. I was beyond psyched that they understood exactly what I was thinking and had their own great ideas to mesh with it!

Veronica, Cole and I discussing my inspiration piece

Our meeting of the minds collaboration will have us meet twice more before our bracelet design gets put into production, once before Christmas-time and once again to finalize our designs during Fashion Week in February…and I really think it’s going to be awesome.

Once we’ve finalized our design, it will be put into CAD (Computer-Aided Design) which will be used to mold and cast the piece, before it gets sent off to be manufactured. A true production of the future of jewelry design, the future of fashion journalism and the future of Palladium fine jewelry. Our pieces will be ready sometime in March, when we’ll have a reception to launch and reveal our custom-made pieces of jewelry…only 4 of each kind will be made, one for each of the team members and one for the blogger, and the 4th…I’m told…to give away to a lucky reader!

Pretty cool, right?

I’m so excited about this collaboration that I want you to follow me, Cole and Veronica through the entire process of the creation! So stay tuned, because I’ll be meeting up with them again soon and will reveal the initial sketches our design!

Hanging out with Sarah of StyleIT, Monica of Palladium Alliance International/Weber Shandwick, Melissa of StyleList, and Adina of KraseyBeauty

More pictures of me meeting with my team and from the event:

 

 

 

 

 

 

All event photos courtesy of Brian Harkin.

This entry was posted in Fashion/Style, Jewelry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Palladium + FIT + Me = The Future of Fine Jewelry

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Palladium + FIT + Me = The Future of Fine Jewelry | Shoes, Shirts & Other Sh!t -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Holiday Gift Guide 2010: Gifts for the Cold-Weather Queen | Shoes, Shirts & Other Sh!t

Leave a Reply

