Hit or Miss: Fashion from the 2010 American Music Awards

I have to admit, I don’t get into awards shows quite as often as I used to, but the I just can’t stray away from the fashion at the AMAs. What I consider a meshing of the MTV Video Music Awards and the Grammy Awards, the AMAs are a place where you can pretty much go either way with it–whether it be gorgeous and glam, crazy and cool— or just plain crazy.

Here are some of my picks of AMAs fashion Hits and Misses!

Hit:

Fergie looking gorgeous in a Falguni & Shane peacock dress



Rihanna looking glam with toned down hair in Elie Saab Couture Fall 2011 gown

Julianne Hough channeling old Hollywood, with a darker hue and wearing a black lace Marchesa gown

Kelly Osbourne looking fabulous and super svelte in a black strapless dress and peeptoes

Katy Perry looking tame, glowing and gorgeous in Badgley Mischka. I love a normal, glam, blue-wigless Katy!

Missed:
Miley Cyrus’ Marchesa disaster. I don’t even know where to begin with this mess.

Not only is Avril Lavigne's dress ugly, but she needs to tone down the eye makeup and try on some bronzer. Oh, and fire her hairstylist. Being a punky little rebel was so Sk8ter Boi, Avril. Time to grow up and hire a stylist (especially if the Kardashians could be your future in-laws, um HELLO).

Diddy and his "guests" in barney purple and pleather. The pleather gloves and sash on the girls' cheapens their look, and Diddy's combat boots are super tacky. Better luck next time!

I know I rag on Ke$ha a lot, but I mean, to be as famous and talented as she is, girlfriend nears to stop wearing trashbags to award shows. This one apparently went through the shredder. And the gold glitter eyebrows? No words.

Usually Heidi Klum can do no wrong in my book, but in this frock, she looks like she just rolled out of bed in a way-too-long nighty.

Jenny McCarthy wanted to get some more use out of her Halloween costume as Pebbles Flintstone at the AMA's!

While I understand that Ms. Minaj was attempting to pay homage to Trinidad's Carnival...or at least I hope that was the thought behind this frock...it's far too busy for the AMA's. And I guess she was trying to get into St. Patty's day early this year with the half-green hair.

In the middle:

I'm on the fence---Taylor Swift rocked a gorgeous Colette Dinnigan mini-dress. While I welcome the change of hairstyle on Tay, I'm not a big fan of the color or of her eye makeup.

Who are your favorite fashions from the American Music Awards? Anyone I missed? What are the thoughts on Taylor and Rihanna’s new hairstyles?
All photos courtesy of WireImage.
This entry was posted in Awards Shows, Celebrities, Fashion/Style, Hair Trends, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hit or Miss: Fashion from the 2010 American Music Awards

  1. Great Post! I literally Lol’ed at “Pebbles Flinstone” and Ke$ha’s trashbags! Hilarious! And I think your comments on Avril were right on the money! Looking forward to your next post!

Leave a Reply

