Vanilla & Pumpkin Spice Chocolate Chip Pancakes with Pumpkin Cream Cheese

If you read my recipe for chocolate chip pancakes a few weeks ago, at this point, you surely must be thinking that I can’t possibly make anything else, which is not true! When I woke up this morning, I was starving and didn’t want to order out for breakfast, but am short on groceries–all I had ingredients for, were an extremely unoriginal omelet and some pancakes that I could doctor up, so I went with the pancakes. Additionally, since it is the final day of my “birthday weekend,” an omelet just didn’t quite seem special enough for breakfast.

This batter is actually pretty different from the last one I shared. While it has many of the same ingredients, I used far more water to thin out the batter, forcing it to almost be a thick crepe once cooked.

Vanilla & Pumpkin Spice Chocolate Chip Pancakes with Pumpkin Cream Cheese
Yields: 2 medium sized pancakes, perfect for one! Time: ~10 minutes

1/2 cup all purpose organic whole wheat flour

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

2 pumps Torani Sugar Free Vanilla-Flavored Syrup

~a pinch of Pumpkin Pie Spice (or more if desired, especially if you don’t have pumpkin cream cheese on hand!)

~1/4 cup organic liquid egg whites

~1 cup of water

~1/3 cup of semisweet or milk-chocolate chocolate chips, plus a fingerful to drop on top at the end

~2 tablespoons butter (or butter substitute)

~Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Cream Cheese Spread (seasonal)*

Directions:

You'll see the edges cook through before flipping over the pancake

Blend all ingredients except chocolate chips and butter in large mixing bowl until smooth. Use a whisk to remove any lumps. Batter should be very thin. Add chocolate chips.

In a non-stick skillet (or a griddle), melt butter to grease pan. Drop 3-4 tablespoons of batter into the center of the skillet. The edges will visibly cook all the way through before you turn over. Cook until bottom side is golden brown and flip to cook the other side.

Remove from skillet, add a dollop of Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Cream Cheese Spread and a dollop of whipped cream (if desired) toss on those extra chocolate chips, watch them melt and enjoy!

*No Trader Joe’s? Try out this fabulous Pumpkin Cream Cheese recipe from Pinch My Salt and DIY it!

This entry was posted in Food, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vanilla & Pumpkin Spice Chocolate Chip Pancakes with Pumpkin Cream Cheese

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Vanilla & Pumpkin Spice Chocolate Chip Pancakes with Pumpkin Cream Cheese | Shoes, Shirts & Other Sh!t -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: World Spinner

  3. Emily says:

    You know Erika, I actually blogged about this topic earlier today on my own site. Your post has provided me with some food for thought, I think you have made some very important points. In fact, I wish I had found it earlier, before I posted my own blog post! – cars2scrap

Leave a Reply

