Saturday Morning Chocolate Chip Pancakes

If I had to choose my favorite breakfast foods, it’d easily be a three way tie between a spinach, tomato and feta egg-white omelet, Belgian Waffles (well, at least the ones my roommate brought home from Whole Foods and made me try from Julian’s Recipe) and Chocolate Chip Pancakes (a great discovery by an ex who liked to make breakfast, although I’m doubting he was the first person to come up with it).

So this morning I woke up craving Chocolate Chip Pancakes, and lucky me, I had no instant pancake mix (you know, the just-add-water kind?), which I’m used to using when I’m super lazy and just want something to eat. Instead, I decided to whip up my own homemade batter, based on my previous baking experience. And while I’m happy to provide the recipe I made up that created crunchy on the outside, gooey, thick and chocolately on the inside delicious pancakes, you’ll have to forgive my shaky measurements–I did a lot of it by sight!

Saturday Morning Chocolate Chip Pancakes

Yields: 2 medium sized pancakes, perfect for one! Time: ~10 minutes

1/2 cup all purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon granulated sugar

~1/4 cup liquid egg whites

~1/4 cup of fat free milk

~1/2 cup of water (or more based on desired consistency)

~1/4-1/2 cup of semisweet or milk-chocolate chocolate chips (based on desired chocolateyness <–I just made that word up)

~2 tablespoons butter

Directions:

Blend all ingredients except chocolate chips and butter in large mixing bowl until smooth. Use a whisk to remove any lumps and fluff the batter. Add chocolate chips to desired chocolateyness.

In a non-stick skillet (or a griddle if you prefer less crispy pancakes), melt butter to grease pan. Drop 3-4 tablespoons of batter into the center of the skillet. Cook until bottom side is golden brown and flip to cook the other side.

Remove from skillet and add butter if desired. Enjoy!

Yum! Enjoy with a glass of fat-free milk!

This entry was posted in Food, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saturday Morning Chocolate Chip Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Week At-a-Glance: November 29-December 5th « Erika Belezarian

  2. Pingback: Feta Cheese & Caramelized Onion Phyllo Cups | Shoes, Shirts & Other Sh!t

Leave a Reply

