Live from New York…It’s Saturday Night!

I’ve been living in New York City now for one week and three days. Yes,  I am counting.

Sarah Jessica Parker as Carrie Bradshaw in Sex & The City (the movie)

As someone who frequented NYC for weekends of partying, bar-hopping and shopping, I came with expectations that my life here would be somewhat like Carrie Bradshaw’s.

Not quite.

Living in New York, as fun as this city is and for as much as it has to offer, isn’t all fun and games like you might think. In my week and three days’ time, I’ve managed to spend almost every penny I came here with…just on groceries! It’s hard to remember what living on your own is like without getting a paycheck every week and having someone else cook your dinner and do your laundry, until you are suddenly thrown into the lifestyle of having to do it yourself again.

You see, I’ve been living at home with my parents, who I’ll probably talk about, (I lovingly refer to them as “Nanc” and “Kev”) for just over a year and a half, after returning from a semester and a half at Penn State University in 2008. Since then, I had a cushy and well-paid internship with the water department as a laboratory technician until this past December, when I decided to transfer from community college in Massachusetts to John Jay College located on 58th and Amsterdam–Midtown Manhattan. I gave up getting dinner cooked for me, free laundry and an awesome paycheck because I was over community college. (It sounds sort of bratty, but being that I’m an only child, I feel entitled to occasionally sound selfish.) It wasn’t just that I was “over” community college, but because I had changed majors and was suddenly double-majoring, the upper level classes I needed to take weren’t offered and to graduate with an associate’s degree in anything, I would’ve spent thousands of dollars and countless more years there. So I left.

While the things I left sound bratty, I also had to leave my newest edition to my family…my puppy Izzie, who I just adopted in March. I am “Mommy” and she is my “dogdaughter”. The morning I left for the city, I held her in my arms and cried for an hour. It sounds silly, but she acts like a person and I love her more than I’ve ever loved anyone or anything in my whole life. I miss her so much! Nanc and Kev (her loving Grammy and Grampy) make it worse because they’ve told me that every morning she goes to the stairs and cries for me and when I don’t come she goes in our front hall and sniffs the few pairs of boots and shoes I’ve left behind.  😦

Izzie
My Izzie!

So enough about how I got here. Now I’m here and unlike Carrie Bradshaw, I don’t frequent the hottest bars and clubs and I don’t shop for new Manolos every day. I do however, feel like her now, writing in the middle of the night, and almost speaking aloud, similar to how she would narrate her articles as she wrote them.

Sarah Jessica Parker as Carrie Bradshaw in Sex & The City

In fact, I’ve only been out twice since I’ve been here. I went out last Friday with some friends from New Jersey, and two nights ago with my roommate and one of her friends and her boyfriend and all their friends. I however, was the problem child, since everyone made it into the bar except for me. The bouncer rejected my stupid fake ID (I mean, we were on Bleecker, near Thompson and I bought the ID on Sullivan, so that was my first mistake.) I tried to play it off like it was my real ID, asking him if he was serious and promising that it was most definitely my driver’s license. He didn’t buy it. Thankfully, he didn’t take it from me and we went to some dive down the street, where it took 25 minutes to get the bartenders attention for a Corona. Ughh… October 27th can’t come fast enough. (My 21st!)

I also have yet to buy any shoes, let alone Manolos,  but I need some. I’ve already worn all my cool shoes to my internship, and now all I have left are sky-high heels for nights-on-the-town (which aren’t happening often) Thankfully, I’m going home next weekend for my great aunt’s 80th birthday and I will be bringing several pairs of shoes back to the city with me!

The Cast of NBC’s Law & Order

TruTV's Forensic Files

You might’ve recognized the title of this post from Saturday Night Live. The point of it, if you didn’t already figure it out, is that while you’d usually think that Saturday night is hoppin’ in NYC, I’m sitting on my laptop in my dorm room writing this.

When I sign off I will probably take off my makeup, put my pajamas

on and watch Law & Order reruns or Bones or NCIS… (all shows I enjoy when there are new episodes on)

CBS's NCIS

whichever happens to be on one of the 15

pathetic TV channels I get here. (I used to enjoy watching Forensic FilesDisappeared or FBI Files on the ID Investigation Discovery channel or TruTV..Nope. Don’t get those in my dorm.)

If none of those are on, I will put on the [bad] news and listen to all the depressing things going on in the world.

ID's Disappeared

Well, that’s all for tonight. Signing off, from the UWS!

xo, E

Bookmark and Share

Copyright Shoes, Shirts & Other Sh!t © 2010

This entry was posted in For starters and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Live from New York…It’s Saturday Night!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Live from New York…It’s Saturday Night! « Shoes, Shirts & Other Sh!t -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

